Rivers State University Post-UTME: Requirements and Format
Rivers State University post-UTME explained from its official 2026/2027 advert: 190 UTME minimum, electronic screening at the ICTC centre, fee portal and dates.
ExamPadi Editorial · Updated · 6 min read
Rivers State University, Nkpolu-Oroworukwo, Port Harcourt, has one of the higher published UTME thresholds among the state universities and runs a computer-based screening at its own ICT centre. The official 2026/2027 advert is on the university's website, so most of this guide is firm. You may still see the old name RSUST in older articles.
What the screening is
The RSU advert says the mode of the screening exercise is electronic and that the test is held at the University's Information Communication and Technology Centre (ICTC). Candidates are told to practise using the computer, especially the mouse and keyboard, and to stick to the date and time on the screening slip, because no one is allowed in after the scheduled date. The advert does not publish the subjects, the number of questions or the duration.
Who can apply
From the official 2026/2027 advert:
- RSU must be your first-choice university in the 2026 UTME; the screening is administered only to first-choice candidates.
- A UTME score of 190 and above is required to apply in all faculties.
- Five O'level credit passes that meet the faculty or department entry requirements in the JAMB brochure; you must upload your results, and candidates awaiting results may apply but should indicate so.
- Correct details exactly as used at JAMB registration.
- The advert encourages candidates to register at the ICTC for reliable registration and biometric verification.
The advert adds that no admission will be approved without your O'level result, and that candidates must be properly and modestly dressed or risk being sent back.
How to apply
Register online at apply.rsu.edu.ng with a debit card payment; the advert did not state the fee in the text we read. The university encourages the use of its online chat support and the ICTC for registration and biometric verification. After registration, print the screening slip, which shows your date, time and venue. Parents, guardians and well-wishers are told to stay away from the venue.
Timeline
From the advert and a later report:
| Stage | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration opens (official advert) | 18 May 2026 |
| Registration closes (official advert) | 7 June 2026 |
| Screening starts (official advert) | 15 June 2026 |
| Revised dates reported by ULearngo | Registration to 21 June; screening from 21 July 2026 |
The revision was reported to accommodate candidates writing WAEC and NECO. We could not match it to a university notice, so check the portal. The university also issued a supplementary 2025/2026 advert in September 2025. See the 2027 dates page for the next cycle.
How your score is worked out
The advert does not state an aggregate formula or the weight of the screening score against UTME and O'level. We found no official figure, so avoid any "RSU aggregate" you cannot trace to the university. Use our aggregate calculator guide only for the general method.
What is not published
Not published in the advert: the fee amount, test subjects, number of questions, duration, and the aggregate weights. Past-question lists for RSU on other sites are unofficial.
Before you pay or submit
Scam sites copy university notices every admission season, so check these before you part with money for RSU:
- Type the portal address yourself or follow the link from the university's own website; do not use links sent on WhatsApp or social media.
- Confirm the fee on the portal screen and keep the payment receipt and your application slip.
- Compare the name on your JAMB profile, O'level result and birth documents letter by letter, because mismatches cause avoidable problems.
- Never pay anyone who promises RSU admission, leaked questions or "expo"; they are scams and malpractice can cost you your place.
A practice plan for RSU
- Learn the test mode first. RSU's advert explicitly calls the screening electronic and tells candidates to practise with the mouse and keyboard, so treat it as a CBT. Do your practice on a computer wherever you can, with a mouse and keyboard, so the real screen does not slow you down.
- Drill English and Mathematics daily. Use English Language practice and Mathematics practice in short, timed sets, then move to the subjects tied to your course.
- Practise under the clock. Set a timer for each block and finish it; CBT exam tips covers pacing, flagging and review habits.
- Check your logistics early. Bring your printed screening slip to the ICTC on the date and time shown, dress modestly as the advert requires, and arrive early for biometric checks.
- Set a weekly rhythm. Plan five study days and one review day, and log your scores each week so you can see which topics are slipping before the next UTME and screening cycle.
Original example: A car travels 150 km in 2.5 hours. What is its average speed? Speed is distance divided by time, so 150 divided by 2.5 gives 60 km per hour. This is our own question, not from RSU.
Read how UNIPORT and DELSU handle screening, and begin with the main post-UTME preparation guide.
Practise now
ExamPadi has 46,182 practice questions across JAMB, WAEC, NECO and NABTEB, with timed CBT mode, free practice and a Pro tier, on Android, iOS, web and Windows. Practise for your Post-UTME and build the speed and accuracy you need. No score or admission is guaranteed, and the university's own portal is always the final word.
Practise with real past questions and worked answers
Practise for your Post-UTMEFrequently asked questions
What UTME score does RSU require?
The official 2026/2027 advert requires 190 and above, with RSU as your first-choice university.
Is RSU screening a CBT?
The advert says the mode is electronic, held at the University's ICT Centre, and urges candidates to practise with the mouse and keyboard.
Where do I register for RSU screening?
At apply.rsu.edu.ng, with a debit card payment, as the advert states.
What dates did RSU announce?
Registration from 18 May to 7 June 2026 and screening from 15 June 2026, though later reports said dates shifted.