UNIJOS Post-UTME: Requirements, Format and Practice
UNIJOS post-UTME explained from the 2026/2027 procedure notice: 180 UTME baseline, programme cut-offs, July to September registration, portal steps, practice.
ExamPadi Editorial · Updated · 6 min read
The University of Jos published a three-page procedure document for 2026/2027 that covers eligibility, portal steps and a cut-off table. It is a good example of an official notice that is clear about the threshold but quiet about test content. Read it yourself on the university's site; this is a summary.
What the screening is
The document describes registration and payment of a screening fee on the portal, then printing a screening summary and receipts. It does not describe a written or computer-based test, give subjects or list screening dates. So we cannot say whether UNIJOS adds a test after registration. Treat the format as not stated and watch the portal and your email.
Who was eligible in 2026
From the UNIJOS document:
- UTME candidates who chose UNIJOS as first choice in the 2026 UTME and scored at least 180, subject to differential cut-offs by programme.
- Only candidates who had uploaded O'level results to JAMB CAPS would be considered.
- Direct Entry candidates had to meet the minimum requirements for the course applied for.
- Admission offers must be accepted on JAMB CAPS within four weeks of release for them to show on the UNIJOS portal.
The document advises you to confirm that you meet your department's cut-off before registering, and otherwise to change course on JAMB CAPS.
Programme cut-offs, with a caution
The cut-off table in the document includes, for example, Medicine and Surgery at 250, Law at 240, Doctor of Pharmacy at 230, Nursing Sciences at 220 and Computer Science at 220, with many programmes at 180 and some at 190 to 200. Dentistry is listed as "No Admission". The table's heading refers to "UTME 2025/2026 Admission" even though the document is for 2026/2027, so confirm figures with UNIJOS before you rely on them. We do not list the full table; use the PDF.
How to apply
The steps in the document:
- Go to portal.unijos.edu.ng, click Forms Application and select the 2026 UTME/DE screening.
- Enter your JAMB registration number and click Get Started, then sign up with your email, phone number and password, and activate the account from your email.
- Log in, click Make Payment, and complete the Remita payment.
- Print the portal receipt, the Remita receipt and your screening summary.
The document does not state the fee amount in the text we could read; check the portal.
Last cycle's timeline (2026/2027)
| Item | Date |
|---|---|
| Registration opens | Monday 13 July 2026 |
| Registration closes | Saturday 12 September 2026 |
The UNIJOS site also carries an extension notice, but it relates to the 2025/2026 session, so do not confuse the two. No 2027 dates are announced; see post-UTME 2027 dates.
What is not published
The procedure document gives no aggregate formula, test subjects or question count. Several third-party sites quote a lower UTME threshold than UNIJOS's own 180; when sources conflict, believe the university. Our aggregate guide is a general explainer.
A practice plan for UNIJOS
- Match score to course early. Compare your UTME score to the table and, if needed, change course on JAMB CAPS before you pay.
- Upload O'level results. This is the gate to being considered.
- Core drills. English Language and Mathematics daily, plus your course subjects, with English practice and Mathematics practice.
- Build exam stamina. Do a 60-question mixed set weekly in the final month. CBT exam tips cover pacing and review.
Original example: If the sum of three consecutive integers is 78, what is the largest? The integers are 25, 26 and 27, so the largest is 27. This question is ours, not from UNIJOS.
Compare ABU and BUK, and read how to prepare for post-UTME. No guide can guarantee a place.
Checklist before you pay anything
- Check your department's cut-off before registering, as the document advises, and change course on JAMB CAPS if needed.
- Note that the cut-off table heading refers to 2025/2026, so confirm figures with UNIJOS.
- Accept any admission offer on JAMB CAPS within the four-week window the document mentions.
- Print both the portal receipt and the Remita receipt.
A six-week schedule
| Week | Focus | Target |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Find the official notice and note the rules | A one-page summary in your own words |
| 2 | Core skills | Three 25-question sets in English Language and Mathematics |
| 3 | Course subjects | Two sets per subject |
| 4 | Timed mixed blocks | 40 questions in about 40 minutes |
| 5 | Adapt to the announced format | Switch to test, document or interview preparation |
| 6 | Review and logistics | Slip, ID, route, sleep |
UNIJOS's registration window ran for two months, but late weeks bring portal congestion, so register early. Adjust the weeks if your window is shorter, and cut the number of subjects rather than the number of timed sets.
Two more practice questions
Both are original, written for this guide, and not taken from any UNIJOS paper.
- Solve x² − 5x + 6 = 0. Working: Factorise as (x − 2)(x − 3) = 0, so x = 2 or x = 3.
- Identify the noun in: "The quick student answered promptly." Working: "Student".
After each set, write down why you missed a question: a content gap, a careless slip or a time problem. Each needs a different fix.
Practise now
ExamPadi has 46,182 practice questions across JAMB, WAEC, NECO and NABTEB, with timed CBT mode, free practice and a Pro tier, on Android, iOS, web and Windows. Practise for your Post-UTME and strengthen the basics. Confirm every date, fee and score on the university's official portal or website before you act; no guide can promise admission.
Practise with real past questions and worked answers
Practise for your Post-UTMEFrequently asked questions
What UTME score does UNIJOS require for screening?
UNIJOS's 2026/2027 procedure notice sets a minimum of 180 for candidates who chose UNIJOS first, with differential cut-offs by programme.
When did UNIJOS registration run in 2026?
From Monday 13 July to Saturday 12 September 2026, according to the procedure notice. Check the portal for any later extension.
Do I need to upload O'level results to JAMB CAPS?
Yes. The notice says only candidates who have uploaded their O'level results to JAMB CAPS will be considered.
Where do I register?
At portal.unijos.edu.ng. Choose Forms Application, select the 2026 UTME/DE screening and enter your JAMB registration number.