JAMB Cut-Off Mark for Education: What Is Published
There is no single JAMB cut-off for Education. See the 2026/2027 national minimum and UNILAG's published 2025/2026 figures for its Education programmes.
ExamPadi Editorial · Updated · 7 min read
"What is the cut-off mark for Education?" has the same three layers as other courses, with one extra complication: Education is a family of programmes, one per teaching subject, and each has its own figure. This page uses the one official table we could read in full to show how much they vary.
Layer one: the JAMB national minimum
At its policy meeting in Abuja on Monday, 11 May 2026, JAMB set the minimum UTME scores for the 2026/2027 admission session. According to Legit.ng:
| Type of institution | Minimum UTME score (2026/2027, reported) |
|---|---|
| Universities | 150 |
| Colleges of nursing | 150 |
| Polytechnics | 100 |
The Legit.ng report did not give a figure for colleges of education, so check JAMB's own announcement if that is your route. These are reported figures; the official notice is on jamb.gov.ng.
This is the lowest score at which a university may consider you. It says nothing about Education specifically, and a score at the national floor is not likely to be enough for a course that more candidates want than there are places for.
Layer two: each school's cut-off
Individual universities publish their own cut-offs for each programme, and these differ from school to school and from year to year. There is no single published "Education cut-off" for Nigeria.
One official example is the University of Lagos. In October 2025 it published its UTME merit admission cut-off marks for 2025/2026, by programme. Its Faculty of Education lists many programmes; we show a selection.
| Programme (UNILAG, 2025/2026) | First figure listed (Merit) |
|---|---|
| Education English | 68.05 |
| Education Physics | 63 |
| Early Childhood Education | 60.25 |
| Educational Administration | 58 |
| Special Education | 58.2 |
| Education Economics | 56.175 |
| Education Chemistry | 53.875 |
| Education Biology | 53.5 |
| Education Mathematics | 51.075 |
Two cautions when reading this table. First, the UNILAG page does not state the scale of its figures. They look like aggregate scores rather than raw UTME marks out of 400, so do not compare them with your UTME score. Second, the page lists further columns (a catchment figure and several states) but does not explain how the figures map to them, so we quote only the first figure in each row, which sits under the Merit heading. The page also shows NIL in some cells, meaning no figure is given there.
Within this table the spread is wide: Education English (68.05) is the highest of the rows above and Education Mathematics (51.075) the lowest, a gap of about 17 points on UNILAG's own scale. Some Education rows, such as Education Igbo and Education Geography, show NIL in every column. The lesson is that you must look up the exact programme, not the word "Education".
Layer three: the ranking on the day
A school's published cut-off is a threshold, not a guarantee. Admission lists are built by ranking candidates who meet the threshold and filling the available places. In a course where more candidates qualify than there are places, meeting the cut-off exactly may not be enough. We cannot publish a national "safe score", and anyone who offers you one with total certainty is guessing.
How schools combine your scores
Many universities use an aggregate that combines your UTME score with a post-UTME screening score, and sometimes your O'level result. Formulas differ by school, which is why you should check your own target. The post-UTME aggregate calculator post explains how to work out an aggregate once you have your school's formula, and what JAMB score you need to get admission looks at the wider picture.
What the numbers mean for your plan
- Aim well above 150. Treat it as the entry ticket, not the target.
- Look up the exact programme. "Education" is not one course; find the row for your teaching subject.
- Check three or four schools on their own websites for the latest session.
- Prepare for the screening too. In many schools, the post-UTME can move you up or down.
Cut-offs for 2027/2028 have not been announced. JAMB decides the minimums at its annual policy meeting after the UTME, and the proposed 2027 UTME window is 15 to 25 March 2027 (see the JAMB 2027 UTME date and timetable page). Do not rely on any website that claims to know the 2027 figure.
Make sure you have the right subjects
None of this matters if your UTME subjects are wrong. The reported combination depends on your teaching subject, for example English, Biology and Chemistry plus Physics or Mathematics for Education and Biology. Read the full explanation, including where sources disagree, in JAMB subject combination for Education.
No guarantees
We cannot promise any score will get you into this course. What you can control is your preparation: cover the syllabus, practise under time pressure and fix your weak topics.
A hypothetical aggregate, to show the arithmetic
Schools use different formulas, so this example is invented purely to show how aggregates work. Suppose a school gave 50 marks to the UTME and 50 to its screening. A candidate with a UTME score of 300 out of 400 would get 300 divided by 400 times 50, which is 37.5. If the same candidate scored 70 out of 100 in screening, that adds 35, for an aggregate of 72.5. Your school's weights, scales and extra components will differ, so always use its own formula before comparing yourself to a published cut-off.
Questions to put to a school's admissions office
- Which session does the published cut-off cover?
- Is the figure an aggregate or a raw UTME mark?
- Are there separate merit and catchment thresholds?
- Is there a post-UTME screening, and how much weight does it carry?
- Does the O'level result count towards the ranking, or only as a requirement?
ExamPadi has 46,182 practice questions across JAMB, WAEC, NECO and NABTEB, with a timed CBT mode. Free practice is available, with a Pro tier, on Android, iOS, web and Windows.
Practise JAMB English on ExamPadi and build the score your target school will look at.
Practise with real past questions and worked answers
Practise JAMB English freeFrequently asked questions
What is the JAMB cut-off mark for Education?
There is no single figure. JAMB sets a national minimum (reported as 150 for universities in 2026/2027) and each university sets its own cut-off per Education programme.
Do all Education courses have the same cut-off?
No. At UNILAG for 2025/2026, the first figures range from about 51 for Education Mathematics to about 68 for Education English.
Do cut-offs change every year?
Yes. They depend on applicants, places and school policy. Last year's figure is a guide, not a promise.
Can I compare these figures with my UTME score?
Not directly. The UNILAG page does not state its scale, and the figures look like aggregates rather than raw UTME marks out of 400.