Skip to main content

JAMB Cut-Off Mark for Pharmacy: What Is Published

There is no single JAMB cut-off for Pharmacy. See the 2026/2027 national minimum, UNILAG's published example and how to plan a score for your target school.

ExamPadi Editorial · Updated · 6 min read

Pharmacy is competitive, and the question "what is the cut-off?" is harder to answer than most websites admit. There is no single national Pharmacy cut-off in Nigeria. There is a national minimum set by JAMB, and then a separate figure at every university. This page shows both, with what can be sourced.

Layer one: the national minimum

At its policy meeting in Abuja on Monday, 11 May 2026, JAMB set the 2026/2027 minimum UTME scores. Legit.ng reported:

Type of institutionMinimum UTME score (2026/2027)
Universities150
Colleges of nursing150
Polytechnics100

Nairametrics reported that the 2025 figures were 150 for universities and 100 for polytechnics and colleges of education, and that the 2024 minimum for universities was 140.

These are minimums to be considered. They are not Pharmacy-specific. A candidate with the minimum score is unlikely to be a realistic contender for a competitive course.

Layer two: the school's own figure

Each university sets its programme cut-offs. As one official example, the University of Lagos published its UTME merit cut-offs for 2025/2026 on 3 October 2025:

Programme (UNILAG, 2025/2026)Merit cut-off
Medicine and Surgery85.025
Nursing79.8
Pharmacy76.4

Read this table carefully:

  • UNILAG's page does not state the scale. The numbers look like aggregate scores, not raw UTME marks out of 400, so do not compare 76.4 with your UTME score.
  • The page also lists separate, lower figures for several states.
  • This is one university and one year. Other schools will publish different numbers, and UNILAG itself will change its figures in future.

In that list, Pharmacy sits below both Medicine and Surgery and Nursing. It tells you that, at that school and in that year, the three health-science courses were ranked in that order. It does not tell you that Pharmacy is easy.

Layer three: the ranking

Meeting a cut-off puts you on the list of candidates a school will consider. The final admission list depends on how many people qualify and how many places exist. If a course has more qualified candidates than places, a score just at the threshold may not be enough. We cannot publish a "safe score" for Pharmacy, and we would be wary of anyone who does.

Check your subjects first

A strong score in the wrong subjects is wasted. The combination reported for Pharmacy in the 2026 guides is Use of English, Biology, Chemistry and Physics. Our guide to the JAMB subject combination for Pharmacy explains how to avoid errors. If you are also considering Medicine, compare with the cut-off mark for Medicine and Surgery.

How to plan your score

  1. Take 150 as the starting line, not the destination.
  2. Pick three or four target schools and read their Pharmacy admission pages for the most recent session.
  3. Check how each school calculates its aggregate, including whether it uses a post-UTME screening and how much weight the O'level result carries. Our JAMB score to get admission page covers the principles.
  4. Build a buffer. A comfortable score gives you options if cut-offs rise.
  5. Know your alternatives. If Pharmacy is out of reach, other courses may suit you. Understand how changing your course works before you rely on it.

What about 2027?

No cut-offs for 2027/2028 have been announced. JAMB decides the national minimums after the UTME, at an annual meeting. The proposed 2027 UTME window is 15 to 25 March 2027; it is only proposed, so follow the JAMB 2027 UTME date and timetable page for updates. Any site that quotes a 2027 Pharmacy cut-off today is guessing.

Prepare, do not gamble

There is no honest shortcut. Do not pay for leaked questions or "arranged" scores. Instead:

  • cover the syllabus in all four subjects;
  • practise Chemistry steadily, since it is closely tied to the course;
  • do timed four-subject papers in the final weeks;
  • track your mistakes and revisit them.

A hypothetical aggregate, to show the arithmetic

Schools use different formulas, so this example is invented purely to show how aggregates work. Suppose a school gave 50 marks to the UTME and 50 to its screening. A candidate with a UTME score of 310 out of 400 would get 310 divided by 400 times 50, which is 38.75. If the same candidate scored 66 out of 100 in screening, that adds 33, for an aggregate of 71.75. Your school's weights and extra components will differ, so use its formula before comparing yourself with any published cut-off.

Questions to put to the admissions office

  • Which session does the published cut-off cover?
  • Is the figure an aggregate or a raw UTME mark?
  • Are there separate merit and catchment thresholds?
  • How much weight does the post-UTME screening carry?
  • Do O'level results count towards the ranking or only as a requirement?

Common misreadings

  • "150 is the Pharmacy cut-off." It is the national floor for universities in 2026/2027, not any single school's figure.
  • "Last year's number will repeat." UNILAG's 2025/2026 list is a snapshot for one session. Applicants, places and policy change.
  • "A list on a blog is official." If a page does not link to the school's own notice, treat it as unverified.
  • "My score alone decides it." Screening, O'level results and available places all play a part, depending on the school.

ExamPadi has 46,182 practice questions across JAMB, WAEC, NECO and NABTEB, with a timed CBT mode. Free practice is available, with a Pro tier, on Android, iOS, web and Windows.

Practise JAMB Chemistry on ExamPadi and build the score that gives you options.

Practise with real past questions and worked answers

Practise JAMB Chemistry free

Frequently asked questions

What is the JAMB cut-off mark for Pharmacy?

There is no single figure. JAMB's national minimum for universities in 2026/2027 is 150. Each university then sets its own Pharmacy cut-off, which can be higher.

Is the Pharmacy cut-off lower than Medicine?

At UNILAG in 2025/2026, the published merit cut-off for Pharmacy (76.4) was below Medicine and Surgery (85.025). Other schools will differ.

Do the UNILAG figures mean UTME marks out of 400?

UNILAG's page does not state the scale. The figures look like aggregate scores, so do not compare them directly with your UTME score.

When will 2027/2028 cut-offs be announced?

JAMB decides national minimums at its policy meeting after the UTME. Nothing has been announced for 2027/2028.

JAMB Subject Combination for Pharmacy

The JAMB UTME subject combination for Pharmacy is Use of English, Biology, Chemistry and Physics. See why each matters and how to avoid costly mistakes.

6 min read

More for JAMB candidates

Past questions by exam