Skip to main content

JAMB Cut-Off Mark for Mass Communication: What Is Published

No single JAMB cut-off exists for Mass Communication. See the 2026/2027 national minimum, UNILAG's 2025/2026 figures, one other reported cut-off and a plan.

ExamPadi Editorial · Updated · 7 min read

Mass Communication is popular with students who like media and writing, and a lot of websites claim to list its cut-off as a single number. There is not one. This page keeps the layers separate and shows the figures we could trace, which for this course are fewer than for some others.

Layer one: the JAMB national minimum

Every year JAMB holds a policy meeting with university heads and other stakeholders to fix the lowest UTME score at which an institution may admit. According to Legit.ng's report of the meeting held in Abuja on 11 May 2026, the minimums for the 2026/2027 admission session are:

Type of institutionMinimum UTME score (2026/2027)
Universities150
Colleges of nursing150
Polytechnics100

Nairametrics, previewing the same meeting, reported that the 2025 minimum for universities was also 150. This is a floor for the whole country and says nothing about any one course. Our guide on what JAMB score you need to get admission explains how the floor, the school's own cut-off and the final ranking fit together. Figures for the 2027/2028 session have not been announced, and JAMB publishes its decisions on jamb.gov.ng.

Layer two: each school's cut-off

Individual universities publish their own cut-offs for each programme, and these differ from school to school and from year to year. One official example is the University of Lagos, which published its UTME merit admission cut-off marks for 2025/2026 in October 2025.

UNILAG column (Mass Communication)Cut-off, 2025/2026
Merit (general)74.074
Ekiti69.625
Lagos71.8
Ogun72.6
Ondo70.65
Osun70.825
Oyo70.45

UNILAG's 3 October 2025 page lists Mass Communication at 74.074 on its general merit list. The six state figures sit between 69.625 (Ekiti) and 72.6 (Ogun), all below the general figure. The page does not define its columns, so reading the first as the general figure is our interpretation, and it does not state the scale; the values look like aggregates and not marks out of 400, so do not compare them with your UTME score.

Among the twelve engineering, law, commerce and health programmes we compared from that page, Mass Communication was in the lower half, below Law at 78.225 and Accounting at 75.7 but above Economics at 73.475. This is the pattern at one school in one session, and it is not a national ranking.

Other reported figures

The table below collects the other figures we could find for the same programme, with the type of source. Press-only figures are reported, not confirmed by us against the university's own notice.

University, sessionReported figureSource type
University of Lagos, 2025/2026 (merit)74.074University notice
Federal University Oye-Ekiti, 2025/202668.5 (scale not stated)Press report

We found only one further published figure, a press report of Federal University Oye-Ekiti's list that gives 68.5 without a scale. Neither the Katsina nor the Otuoke lists we read included this course. That thin coverage is itself a lesson: if you cannot find your school's figure, go to its admissions page or ask the department.

Reading these numbers without being misled

Three habits will save you from the most common errors.

  1. Compare within one university only. A figure of 78 at one school and a figure of 190 at another are not on the same scale, so putting them side by side tells you nothing. Several of the notices we cite do not state their scale, and we have not guessed.
  2. Match the programme title exactly. Schools use titles such as Economics and Development Studies or Computer Science and Informatics, and a figure for one title does not carry over to a neighbouring programme.
  3. Note the year and the status. Everything here is for the 2025/2026 session. Cut-offs for the next session are set afresh, and a figure reported by a news outlet can differ from the school's final notice.

Layer three: the ranking on the day

A published cut-off is a threshold, not a guarantee. After the cut-off, many universities screen candidates with a post-UTME and combine the results into an aggregate. The formula differs by school, so use your target school's own notice. Our post-UTME aggregate calculator guide shows how to work one out. If more qualified candidates apply than there are places, meeting the cut-off exactly may not be enough, and nobody can honestly give you a national safe score for a course.

What the numbers mean for your plan

  1. Treat 150 as the entry ticket, not the target. It lets a university consider you; it does not make you competitive for most courses.
  2. Check three or four schools you actually want, on their own websites, for the latest session, and write down their scale.
  3. Prepare for the screening as well. Where a post-UTME is held, it can move your final position, so do not wait for the UTME result to start.
  4. Keep a backup. If your first choice is out of reach, a related course may be possible; read about changing your course, and remember that the subjects you wrote must fit the new course.

Cut-offs for the 2027/2028 session have not been announced. Do not rely on any website that claims to know the 2027 figure.

Make sure you have the right subjects

The lists we read agree on Literature in English for Mass Communication, but the University of Ilorin words the other subjects differently from the national list. See JAMB subject combination for Mass Communication.

No guarantees

We cannot promise that any score will win a place. What you control is your preparation: cover the syllabus, practise under time pressure, and work on the topics that cost you marks.

ExamPadi has 46,182 practice questions across JAMB, WAEC, NECO and NABTEB, with a timed CBT mode. Free practice is available, with a Pro tier, on Android, iOS, web and Windows.

Practise with real past questions and worked answers

Practise JAMB Literature in English free

Frequently asked questions

What is the JAMB cut-off mark for Mass Communication?

There is no single figure. JAMB sets a national minimum (150 for universities in 2026/2027), and each university sets its own Mass Communication cut-off.

How does UNILAG's Mass Communication figure compare with Law?

In 2025/2026 the published merit figure at UNILAG was 74.074 for Mass Communication and 78.225 for Law. Other schools differ.

Is the cut-off the same as the JAMB score I need?

Not necessarily. Some schools publish an aggregate, which blends several scores, and others publish a UTME mark. Check which one your target uses.

Where do I find a university's Mass Communication cut-off?

On the university's official website or admissions portal, and not on blogs that give numbers without a link to the school's own notice.

JAMB Cut-Off Mark for Law: What Is Published

There is no single JAMB cut-off for Law. See the 2026/2027 national minimum, UNILAG's published 2025/2026 figures, other reported cut-offs and how to plan.

7 min read

More for JAMB candidates

Past questions by exam