JAMB Cut-Off Mark for Computer Science: What Is Published
There is no single JAMB cut-off for Computer Science. See the 2026/2027 national minimum, UNILAG's 2025/2026 figures, other reported cut-offs and how to plan.
ExamPadi Editorial · Updated · 7 min read
Computer Science attracts more applicants than many schools can admit, so it is no surprise that its cut-offs can be high. But there is no one national figure, and a number copied from a random website may belong to a different school or a different year. This page separates the national floor from the school-level figures we could trace.
Layer one: the JAMB national minimum
Every year JAMB holds a policy meeting with university heads and other stakeholders to fix the lowest UTME score at which an institution may admit. According to Legit.ng's report of the meeting held in Abuja on 11 May 2026, the minimums for the 2026/2027 admission session are:
| Type of institution | Minimum UTME score (2026/2027) |
|---|---|
| Universities | 150 |
| Colleges of nursing | 150 |
| Polytechnics | 100 |
Nairametrics, previewing the same meeting, reported that the 2025 minimum for universities was also 150. This is a floor for the whole country and says nothing about any one course. Our guide on what JAMB score you need to get admission explains how the floor, the school's own cut-off and the final ranking fit together. Figures for the 2027/2028 session have not been announced, and JAMB publishes its decisions on jamb.gov.ng.
Layer two: each school's cut-off
Individual universities publish their own cut-offs for each programme, and these differ from school to school and from year to year. One official example is the University of Lagos, which published its UTME merit admission cut-off marks for 2025/2026 in October 2025.
| UNILAG column (Computer Science) | Cut-off, 2025/2026 |
|---|---|
| Merit (general) | 83.425 |
| Ekiti | 80.125 |
| Lagos | 79.6 |
| Ogun | 82.025 |
| Ondo | 77.5 |
| Osun | 79.2 |
| Oyo | 78.1 |
UNILAG's 3 October 2025 page lists Computer Science at 83.425 on its general merit list, with separate figures for six states ranging from 77.5 (Ondo) to 82.025 (Ogun). The page does not define its columns, so treating the first as the general figure is our reading of the layout, and it does not state the scale either; the values look like aggregate scores, not marks out of 400, so do not compare them with your UTME score.
The notable point is the ordering. Among the twelve engineering, law, commerce and health programmes we compared from that page, Computer Science had the highest merit figure, above Electrical/Electronics Engineering at 79.5 and Mechanical Engineering at 78.525. That is one school and one session, so it shows demand at UNILAG that year and not a national rule.
Other reported figures
The table below collects the other figures we could find for the same programme, with the type of source. Press-only figures are reported, not confirmed by us against the university's own notice.
| University, session | Reported figure | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| University of Lagos, 2025/2026 (merit) | 83.425 | University notice |
| Umaru Musa Yar'adua University, Katsina, 2025/2026 | 170 (reported in JAMB points) | Press report of the university notice |
| Federal University Oye-Ekiti, 2025/2026 | 69.2 (scale not stated) | Press report |
| Federal University Otuoke, 2025/2026, listed as Computer Science and Informatics | 206 (scale not stated) | Press report |
The Katsina report states that its figures are in JAMB points, so 170 there is a UTME-mark threshold. The reports for Oye-Ekiti and Otuoke do not state a scale, and Otuoke lists the programme under a longer title. We include them to show the spread of published values, and not to suggest any of them applies to the school you want.
Reading these numbers without being misled
Three habits will save you from the most common errors.
- Compare within one university only. A figure of 78 at one school and a figure of 190 at another are not on the same scale, so putting them side by side tells you nothing. Several of the notices we cite do not state their scale, and we have not guessed.
- Match the programme title exactly. Schools use titles such as Economics and Development Studies or Computer Science and Informatics, and a figure for one title does not carry over to a neighbouring programme.
- Note the year and the status. Everything here is for the 2025/2026 session. Cut-offs for the next session are set afresh, and a figure reported by a news outlet can differ from the school's final notice.
Layer three: the ranking on the day
A published cut-off is a threshold, not a guarantee. After the cut-off, many universities screen candidates with a post-UTME and combine the results into an aggregate. The formula differs by school, so use your target school's own notice. Our post-UTME aggregate calculator guide shows how to work one out. If more qualified candidates apply than there are places, meeting the cut-off exactly may not be enough, and nobody can honestly give you a national safe score for a course.
What the numbers mean for your plan
- Treat 150 as the entry ticket, not the target. It lets a university consider you; it does not make you competitive for most courses.
- Check three or four schools you actually want, on their own websites, for the latest session, and write down their scale.
- Prepare for the screening as well. Where a post-UTME is held, it can move your final position, so do not wait for the UTME result to start.
- Keep a backup. If your first choice is out of reach, a related course may be possible; read about changing your course, and remember that the subjects you wrote must fit the new course.
Cut-offs for the 2027/2028 session have not been announced. Do not rely on any website that claims to know the 2027 figure.
Make sure you have the right subjects
Computer Science uses Mathematics and Physics in every list we read, with a flexible fourth subject. See JAMB subject combination for Computer Science for the detail and the disagreements between lists.
No guarantees
We cannot promise that any score will win a place. What you control is your preparation: cover the syllabus, practise under time pressure, and work on the topics that cost you marks.
ExamPadi has 46,182 practice questions across JAMB, WAEC, NECO and NABTEB, with a timed CBT mode. Free practice is available, with a Pro tier, on Android, iOS, web and Windows.
Practise with real past questions and worked answers
Practise JAMB Mathematics freeFrequently asked questions
What is the JAMB cut-off mark for Computer Science?
There is no single figure. JAMB sets a national minimum (150 for universities in 2026/2027), and each university sets its own Computer Science cut-off.
Is Computer Science harder to get into than Law?
At UNILAG in 2025/2026, the published merit figure for Computer Science was higher than for Law. Other schools differ, so check your own targets.
Do cut-offs change every year?
Yes. They depend on applicants, available places and each school's policy. Last year's figure is a guide, not a promise.
Where do I find a university's Computer Science cut-off?
On the university's official website or admissions portal, and not on blogs that give numbers without a link to the school's own notice.