JAMB Cut-Off Mark for Architecture: What Is Published
There is no single JAMB cut-off for Architecture. See the 2026/2027 national minimum, UNILAG's 2025/2026 figures, one other reported cut-off and how to plan.
ExamPadi Editorial · Updated · 7 min read
Architecture is a course where each school may add its own entry rules, so the cut-off is only part of the picture. Even so, applicants want a number, and a great many websites provide one without a source. This page shows what we could trace and keeps the layers apart.
Layer one: the JAMB national minimum
Every year JAMB holds a policy meeting with university heads and other stakeholders to fix the lowest UTME score at which an institution may admit. According to Legit.ng's report of the meeting held in Abuja on 11 May 2026, the minimums for the 2026/2027 admission session are:
| Type of institution | Minimum UTME score (2026/2027) |
|---|---|
| Universities | 150 |
| Colleges of nursing | 150 |
| Polytechnics | 100 |
Nairametrics, previewing the same meeting, reported that the 2025 minimum for universities was also 150. This is a floor for the whole country and says nothing about any one course. Our guide on what JAMB score you need to get admission explains how the floor, the school's own cut-off and the final ranking fit together. Figures for the 2027/2028 session have not been announced, and JAMB publishes its decisions on jamb.gov.ng.
Layer two: each school's cut-off
Individual universities publish their own cut-offs for each programme, and these differ from school to school and from year to year. One official example is the University of Lagos, which published its UTME merit admission cut-off marks for 2025/2026 in October 2025.
| UNILAG column (Architecture) | Cut-off, 2025/2026 |
|---|---|
| Merit (general) | 75.575 |
| Ekiti | 60.725 |
| Lagos | 72.025 |
| Ogun | 72.15 |
| Ondo | 70.35 |
| Osun | 72.175 |
| Oyo | 72.825 |
UNILAG's 3 October 2025 page lists Architecture at 75.575 on its general merit list. Its six state figures run from 60.725 (Ekiti) to 72.825 (Oyo), and the gap between the general figure and the Ekiti figure is nearly 15 points. The page does not define its columns, so treating the first as the general figure is our reading of the layout, and it does not state the scale. The values look like aggregates and not marks out of 400.
The merit figure was almost identical to Civil Engineering's, 75.625, among the twelve engineering, law, commerce and health programmes we compared; Architecture came just below it. Do not read much into a gap of 0.05 on a scale the school has not described.
Other reported figures
The table below collects the other figures we could find for the same programme, with the type of source. Press-only figures are reported, not confirmed by us against the university's own notice.
| University, session | Reported figure | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| University of Lagos, 2025/2026 (merit) | 75.575 | University notice |
| Federal University Oye-Ekiti, 2025/2026 | 64.7 (scale not stated) | Press report |
We found one further published figure: a press report that Federal University Oye-Ekiti lists Architecture at 64.7 with no scale stated. The Katsina and Otuoke lists we read did not include the course. It is not comparable with UNILAG's number, so use it only to see that the course appears on other schools' lists.
Reading these numbers without being misled
Three habits will save you from the most common errors.
- Compare within one university only. A figure of 78 at one school and a figure of 190 at another are not on the same scale, so putting them side by side tells you nothing. Several of the notices we cite do not state their scale, and we have not guessed.
- Match the programme title exactly. Schools use titles such as Economics and Development Studies or Computer Science and Informatics, and a figure for one title does not carry over to a neighbouring programme.
- Note the year and the status. Everything here is for the 2025/2026 session. Cut-offs for the next session are set afresh, and a figure reported by a news outlet can differ from the school's final notice.
Layer three: the ranking on the day
A published cut-off is a threshold, not a guarantee. After the cut-off, many universities screen candidates with a post-UTME and combine the results into an aggregate. The formula differs by school, so use your target school's own notice. Our post-UTME aggregate calculator guide shows how to work one out. If more qualified candidates apply than there are places, meeting the cut-off exactly may not be enough, and nobody can honestly give you a national safe score for a course.
What the numbers mean for your plan
- Treat 150 as the entry ticket, not the target. It lets a university consider you; it does not make you competitive for most courses.
- Check three or four schools you actually want, on their own websites, for the latest session, and write down their scale.
- Prepare for the screening as well. Where a post-UTME is held, it can move your final position, so do not wait for the UTME result to start.
- Keep a backup. If your first choice is out of reach, a related course may be possible; read about changing your course, and remember that the subjects you wrote must fit the new course.
Cut-offs for the 2027/2028 session have not been announced. Do not rely on any website that claims to know the 2027 figure.
Make sure you have the right subjects
Architecture is the one course in this batch with a flexible fourth subject in the list we read. See JAMB subject combination for Architecture before you register.
No guarantees
We cannot promise that any score will win a place. What you control is your preparation: cover the syllabus, practise under time pressure, and work on the topics that cost you marks.
ExamPadi has 46,182 practice questions across JAMB, WAEC, NECO and NABTEB, with a timed CBT mode. Free practice is available, with a Pro tier, on Android, iOS, web and Windows.
Practise with real past questions and worked answers
Practise JAMB Mathematics freeFrequently asked questions
What is the JAMB cut-off mark for Architecture?
There is no single figure. JAMB sets a national minimum (150 for universities in 2026/2027), and each university sets its own Architecture cut-off.
Why is the Ekiti figure at UNILAG so much lower?
UNILAG's page lists 60.725 in the Ekiti column against 75.575 for general merit, but it does not explain the columns, so we cannot say why.
Is Architecture's cut-off higher than Civil Engineering?
At UNILAG in 2025/2026 the merit figures were almost the same: 75.575 for Architecture and 75.625 for Civil Engineering.
Where do I find a university's Architecture cut-off?
On the university's official website or admissions portal, and not on blogs that give numbers without a link to the school's own notice.